Not loading at startup

Discussion, questions and support.
ehoyle
Posts: 10
Joined: Dec 14th, ’18, 12:12

Post by ehoyle » Sep 5th, ’19, 17:03

I'm not sure if this is related, but it's the main reason I started this thread.

As the text expander isn't working again, rather than just reload Fastkeys, as I'd normally do, I tried ctrl+alt+space and clicked on the expander I wanted and it worked! Why does that work when for some reason the usual text expander doesn't? It happens to me frequently, in many of the apps I use (Gmail, Excel, Word, Chrome browser, Notepad).
User avatar
Marko
Posts: 1051
Joined: Mar 2nd, ’13, 21:02

Post by Marko » Sep 5th, ’19, 20:41

For Text Expander working properly, FastKeys needs to process keyboard input - this may be blocked by some security software.

Please check your antivirus or antiSpyware software - look for "keylogger protection", "sandboxing" or similar options. For example in Webroot SecureAnywhere try disabling "Web Threat Shield"​ or "Identity Shield" options, in Zemana Antilogger try disabling "Enable keystroke detection" option.

https://fastkeysautomation.com/document ... oting.html
Cüneyt
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 7th, ’19, 14:25

Post by Cüneyt » Sep 5th, ’19, 21:30

I use only regular windows defender.
Fastkeys sometimes starts with windows sometimes won't.
Probably windows kills fastkey's startup
ehoyle
Posts: 10
Joined: Dec 14th, ’18, 12:12

Post by ehoyle » Sep 6th, ’19, 16:20

Like Cüneyt, I'm running only Windows Defender and no other antivirus or malware software.
User avatar
Marko
Posts: 1051
Joined: Mar 2nd, ’13, 21:02

Post by Marko » Sep 6th, ’19, 16:50

Try running Windows in safe mode. If it works there must be a conflicting process involved. Are you using a gaming computer?
ehoyle
Posts: 10
Joined: Dec 14th, ’18, 12:12

Post by ehoyle » Sep 11th, ’19, 18:37

I don't use a gaming computer.

However, I do use AutoHotkey - could that present a conflict? And I also use Gmail quite a lot, including its predictive writing facility - could that be conflicting?
User avatar
Marko
Posts: 1051
Joined: Mar 2nd, ’13, 21:02

Post by Marko » Sep 12th, ’19, 16:14

I understand the trouble is that FastKeys in your case is not loading at startup. This generally cannot be related to using Gmail or AutoHotkey. Do you have some AutoHotkey scripts running at startup?
Cüneyt
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 7th, ’19, 14:25

Post by Cüneyt » Sep 12th, ’19, 17:43

I don't use autohotkey
ehoyle
Posts: 10
Joined: Dec 14th, ’18, 12:12

Post by ehoyle » Sep 16th, ’19, 16:28

I've added it to Window's Defender's exclusion list, but FastKeys' text expander still randomly stops working - but as I said before, I can still use ctrl+alt+spacebar and insert expanded text by selecting from the lists that pop up.

JFYI, I solved the startup problem a while ago - it now loads up at startup every time (maybe I should start a new thread with a new title?) - but the text expander randomly stops working. I would love to figure out why and solve it!
Trajan44
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 14th, ’19, 18:14

Post by Trajan44 » Oct 14th, ’19, 18:49

Marko wrote:
Sep 5th, ’19, 20:41
For Text Expander working properly, FastKeys needs to process keyboard input - this may be blocked by some security software.
Please check your antivirus or antiSpyware software - look for "keylogger protection", "sandboxing" or similar options. For example in Webroot SecureAnywhere try disabling "Web Threat Shield"​ or "Identity Shield" options, in Zemana Antilogger try disabling "Enable keystroke detection" option.
https://fastkeysautomation.com/document ... oting.html crédit
Hello everyone. Thank you for sharing this with us, it's interesting! The information is useful, thank you for having communicated to us. However, a little detail trots me a little. Thank you for your comeback. Good luck to all. Sincerely
Post Reply