Discussion, questions and support.
-
michaelbeijer
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Jan 31st, ’16, 17:51
Post
by michaelbeijer » Oct 8th, ’22, 16:49
Hi guys,
I'm having a very strange problem where text inserted with FastKeys (or any AutoHotkey-based script or program for that matter) is getting garbled, but only in certain programs. I made a quick video to explain the problem:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qbDXMlLDQ5k
Instead of this:
Code: Select all
<EditItem Enabled="true" EditItemType="plain_text">
<FindText>bodembescherming</FindText>
<ReplaceText>basisbescherming</ReplaceText>
</EditItem>
I am getting stuff like this:
Code: Select all
<Edititem ENABleD+2true" EdiTItemType="plain_text">
<FindT ext>bodembescherming</FindText>
<ReplaceText>basisbescherming</ReplaceText>
</EditItem>
Is there any way to fix this?
-
michaelbeijer
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Jan 31st, ’16, 17:51
Post
by michaelbeijer » Oct 8th, ’22, 17:44
I am also having a weird problem, which might be related, where in a certain program, which has a password input field, if I insert the password with FastKeys, either via Shortcut or via Text Expander, it says password is wrong. If I then paste the passowrd in normally, i.e., I copy it from Notepad and into the field, it works fine.
Sth is going on here, but I can't put my finger on it.
-
Marko
- Posts: 1813
- Joined: Mar 2nd, ’13, 21:02
Post
by Marko » Oct 8th, ’22, 18:27
Some web based applications cannot handle fast key sending so you need to introduce a short delay. Set it in Preferences/Text Expander/Advanced - try to set a key Delay to 30ms or more (experiment).
-
michaelbeijer
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Jan 31st, ’16, 17:51
Post
by michaelbeijer » Oct 8th, ’22, 19:02
Thanks Marko!
So I did what you said (I set the key Delay to 30ms), and it worked! However, as a test, I then removed the key Delay, and reloaded FastKeys, and then it also worked. Very strange. In any case, next time I will fiddle with the key Delay time to see if I can fix it.
Michael
-
robpenfold
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Oct 23rd, ’24, 06:42
Post
by robpenfold » Nov 4th, ’24, 02:13
I was having similar issues at work for some reason - URL's I'd commonly use would come out as a mix of capitalized letters and unusual characters.
For me, setting the key delay didn't work
However, ticking "Use clipboard" in the edit screen for a particular text expansion did the trick. Bonus is that the text appears much more quickly this way also