Page 1 of 1

Complete newbie stupid question

Posted: Oct 12th, ’20, 00:00
by MJB
I'm trying to convert to FastKeys from Breevy. After some issues with Breevy and what seems to be stalled improvements, I am trying FastKeys. Hopefully it will work with a specialized language keyboard that I use. While it seems that FastKeys will do a lot more, I have yet to get any text substitution to occur.

Some of the built-in automations will occur using alt keys, ctrl keys, etc. but none of the text is sending--not the examples or the ones I've made.

Breevy would simply insert the text when I hit the space bar or return bar, or I could set special keys to activate the substitution. I cannot find any setting that tells me where to set activation keys, or what will do it. I've made some very clear strings that shouldn't be confused with anything else, but nothing happens.

Anyone have any suggestions? :?:
I've gone through the manual and cannot find anything about setting activation keys either.
I've tried this on several computers with no luck.

Michael
Win 10 Pro|Intel Core I7 10gen| 16 Gb RAM

Re: Complete newbie stupid question

Posted: Oct 12th, ’20, 11:58
by Tom
Several examples are provided in the software, for example, typing "kr" should be expanded to "kind regards". There are many ending characters, like Space, Enter, comma etc. - this could be set in Preferences/Text Expander.
Are you able to open the main FastKeys settings window and add a new item?
https://fastkeysautomation.com/document ... Guide.html

Re: Complete newbie stupid question

Posted: Dec 5th, ’20, 18:53
by -SCORP-
Hi. Just started learning Fastkeys. If I'm so old, I can't understand why the last characters are duplicated when replacing text. For example, the text: check email, replace: [img] https://forum.ru-board.com/board/images/newmail.gif [/img]. After the image, "img]" is duplicated. What am I doing wrong?

Re: Complete newbie stupid question

Posted: Dec 5th, ’20, 20:07
by Tom
In slower apps you may need to set a small Key Delay - Preferences/Text Expander/Advanced - try 50-100ms.

Re: Complete newbie stupid question

Posted: Dec 19th, ’20, 12:52
by -SCORP-
Hello.Please tell me if there is a video with examples of how each function works, in detail?
And more.You can fix the display of numbers, and then after 9 is not displayed.
Image

Re: Complete newbie stupid question

Posted: Dec 19th, ’20, 19:08
by Marko
Not yet. I suggest you start with the documentation here:
https://fastkeysautomation.com/documentation/index.html

The numbers on a popup window are showing shortcut selection keys. You can disable this in Preferences/Appearance/Selection keys - Numbers.